Posted by: Michelle | February 26, 2010

Pyramids of Giza

Usually I’m more interested in seeing natural wonders than manmade structures, but I’m making an exception for the Giza Pyramids in Egypt. When I was younger I thought a house that was built in the 1800s was old, but that’s nothing compared to these ancient tombs constructed around 2500 BC. The Pyramid of Khufu, or the Great Pyramid, is the definitely the must-see attraction of the region, at 450 feet tall and covering 13 acres of land. It was the tallest man-made structure in the world for over 3,800 years! The image below shows the three biggest Giza pyramids, including the Great Pyramid in the middle.

I spent a few days in the Negev Desert in Israel, and I loved the vast open space. Growing up in a suburb and currently living in Boston, I’m not used to being able to see land miles away from me. The emptiness in the Negev was almost disconcerting at first, but I ended up finding it peaceful. I vowed to go back to a desert again someday, and what better desert to choose than the one with 4,000-year-old pyramids! I also wouldn’t mind another camel ride!

Me with my friend Kim in the Negev Desert, May 2008

Leave a Reply

Categories

