Posted by: Michelle | June 4, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised by Poland

It’s been a busy few weeks for me – graduating college, moving from Boston back home to CT and then to my new home in NYC, and starting a new job. I’ve been meaning to write for a couple weeks about an encounter I had while waiting for the bus from Boston to Hartford. I met a Lafayette College student who was on his way to NYC before returning home to Ukraine for the summer. We started talking about traveling, and, to my surprise, he chose Poland as his top destination.

While he gushed about the incredible architecture and beautiful scenery, I realized that as helpful as guide books and online research are, traveling itself is really the best way to figure out where to travel next. Most people you meet on the road are eager to share their experiences and knowledge with you. And a lot of them will even offer you their couch if you ever visit their home city!

Unfortunately my bus came before I got a couch invitation from the Ukrainian, but the conversation about Poland stayed with me. Even though I never considered going to Poland before, the Ukrainian persuaded me, so now I’m adding it to my list. Some quick image searches show that the architecture actually is pretty cool. The building below, located in Rezydent shopping center in Sopot, is aptly named “The Crooked House.”

I also looked up scenery in Poland, and the Tatra Mountains seem to be the main scenic landmark. The mountains themselves are beautiful, but what struck me most are these adorable little villages tucked into the hills (below). I would love to spend a week in one of those houses, getting to know all the locals and soaking up the fresh air.

Responses

  1. Crooked house is looking nice and little horror. poland has nice and organized structure around all. I liked poland and happy to visit back there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

