Posted by: Michelle | August 7, 2010

Inspired by Reality TV?

Ok, two confessions.

First, as you can see, I haven’t written in a while. I’ve been writing for my company blog and I took a little break from the Journey. But I missed it too much so now I’m back!

Second, I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I got the subject of this post from an episode of The Bachelorette, but every idea has to come from somewhere, right?

One episode of this season’s Bachelorette took place in Lisbon, Portugal. From the first minute of the episode, I was captivated. As you know, I have a thing for cities with beautiful waterfronts. I’m sure the center of Lisbon is vibrant with entertainment, shopping and restaurants, but I get enough of that here in NYC. What I really miss is a gorgeous harbor, like I was spoiled with during my time in Sydney. Lisbon has that.

Lisbon is built on the Tagus River, and the views of the city from the river are breathtaking, especially with all the monuments right on the water. Belém Tower was built in 1515 to guard the entrance to Lisbon’s harbor. UNESCO made the tower a World Heritage site because, “It is a reminder of the great maritime discoveries that laid the foundations of the modern world.”

Whatever the reason, I’m glad Belém Tower is protected. It looks gorgeous and hopefully I’ll be able to journey there someday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

