Posted by: Michelle | September 29, 2010

The Lost Girls

I recently finished reading the book The Lost Girls, the true story of three young women (Jennifer Baggett, Holly Corbett and Amanda Pressner) working their way up the corporate ladder in New York City who decide to take a whole year off to travel around the world.

These women remind me of myself – working in communications, living in the upper east side, and struggling with the conflict between the drive to succeed in a career and the urge to explore the world.

It’s thrilling and even a little overwhelming to imagine that after I’ve saved some money in my late twenties I could actually go to all these incredible destinations I’ve been writing about in this blog. And all in one trip! The Lost Girls managed to travel to Peru, Brazil, Kenya, India, Cambodia, Vietnam, Thailand, Myanmar, Bali, New Zealand and Australia in one year, often with several destinations in each country.

I enjoyed reading about the couple places I’ve actually been to (Australia and Thailand), and I lived vicariously through Jen, Holly and Amanda’s experiences in the rest of the world. I’m sure I’ll be adding at least a few of their travel spots to my journey in the future, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Categories

